Please view the main text area of the page by skipping the main menu.

Marukawa named Olympics minister; Matsuno picked as education minister

Members of the newly named Cabinet of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe pose for a photo in Tokyo on Aug. 3, 2016. (Mainichi)

The roster of the new Cabinet launched by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe was announced on the evening of Aug. 3.

Tamayo Marukawa, who was environment minister, was named as minister in charge of the Olympics and Paralympics. Former minister in charge of financial affairs, Yuji Yamamoto, will serve as minister of agriculture.

Additionally, former senior vice minister of education, Hirokazu Matsuno, was appointed education minister, and former senior vice foreign minister Katsutoshi Kaneda was picked as the justice minister.

Meanwhile, Koichi Yamamoto, former senior vice minister of internal affairs and communications, was chosen as the environment minister. Former senior vice minister for agriculture, forestry and fisheries, Masahiro Imamura, is taking over the role of minister for reconstruction, and Jun Matsumoto, former deputy chief Cabinet secretary, will be serving as chairman of the National Public Safety Commission and minister for disaster management.

Yosuke Tsuruho, former senior vice minister for land, infrastructure, transport and tourism, was selected as minister of Okinawa and Northern Territories affairs. And finally, Kozo Yamamoto, former senior vice minister of economy, trade and industry, was named minister in charge of overcoming the population decline and vitalizing local economies.

Of the 19 Cabinet ministers, eight -- former Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretary Hiroshige Seko, Matsumoto, Tsuruho, Imamura, Koichi Yamamoto, Kaneda, Kozo Yamamoto and Matsuno -- entered the Cabinet for the first time. There are three women in the new Cabinet lineup, the same number as in the current one.

Also in The Mainichi

The Mainichi on social media