Please view the main text area of the page by skipping the main menu.

Abe's new Cabinet lineup

Japanese Chief Cabinet Secretary Yoshihide Suga announces the new lineup of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe's reshuffled Cabinet, in Tokyo, on Oct. 2, 2018. (Kyodo)

TOKYO (Kyodo) -- The following is the lineup of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe's Cabinet formed Tuesday after he was reappointed as the Liberal Democratic Party's president.

Prime Minister

Shinzo Abe, age 64

Deputy Prime Minister

Finance Minister

State minister for financial services

Minister in charge of overcoming deflation

Taro Aso 78

Internal Affairs and Communications Minister

State minister in charge of the social security and tax number system

Masatoshi Ishida 66

Justice Minister

Takashi Yamashita 53

Foreign Minister

Taro Kono 55

Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology Minister

Minister in charge of education rebuilding

Masahiko Shibayama 52

Health, Labor and Welfare Minister

Minister in charge of working style reform

Takumi Nemoto 67

Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Minister

Takamori Yoshikawa 67

Economy, Trade and Industry Minister

Minister in charge of industrial competitiveness

Minister in charge of economic cooperation with Russia

Minister in charge of the response to the economic impact caused by the nuclear accident

State minister for the Nuclear Damage Compensation and Decommissioning Facilitation Corporation

Hiroshige Seko 55

Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism Minister

Minister in charge of water cycle policy

Keiichi Ishii 60

Environment Minister

State minister for nuclear emergency preparedness

Yoshiaki Harada 74

Defense Minister

Takeshi Iwaya 61

Chief Cabinet Secretary

Minister for the abduction issue

Minister in charge of alleviating the burden of the bases in Okinawa

Yoshihide Suga 69

Minister for reconstruction

Minister in charge of comprehensive policy coordination for revival from the nuclear accident at Fukushima

Hiromichi Watanabe 68

Chairman of the National Public Safety Commission

Minister in charge of building national resilience

State minister for disaster management

Junzo Yamamoto 63

Minister in charge of promoting dynamic engagement of all citizens

Minister in charge of administrative reform

Minister in charge of civil service reform

Minister in charge of territorial issues

State minister for Okinawa and Northern Territories affairs

State minister for consumer affairs and food safety

State minister for measures for declining birthrate

State minister for ocean policy

Mitsuhiro Miyakoshi 67

Minister in charge of information technology policy

State minister for "Cool Japan" strategy

State minister for intellectual property strategy

State minister for science and technology policy

State minister for space policy

Takuya Hirai 60

Minister in charge of economic revitalization

Minister in charge of promoting social security for all generations

State minister for economic and fiscal policy

Toshimitsu Motegi 62

State minister for regional revitalization

State minister for regulatory reform

State minister for gender equality

Minister in charge of women's empowerment

Satsuki Katayama (F) 59

Minister in charge of the Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games

Yoshitaka Sakurada 68


NOTES: Ishii is a member of the Komeito party. The others are from the Liberal Democratic Party.

(F) denotes female ministers.

Also in The Mainichi

The Mainichi on social media